Chair Isiah Leggett

**Vice Chair** William E. Kirwan

Executive Director Rachel H. Hise



Accountability & Implementation Board Board Members Mara R. Doss Jennifer M. Lynch Joseph Manko Justin Robinson Laura M. Stapleton

## BLUEPRINT FOR MARYLAND'S FUTURE

July 31, 2024

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

Media Contact: Arshia Sethi-Snowdon (410) 991-7525 <u>Arshia.Sethi-Snowdon@maryland.gov</u>

## The Blueprint for Maryland's Future Accountability and Implementation Board Announces Reappointment of Three Board Members

The Blueprint for Maryland's Future Accountability and Implementation Board (AIB) is pleased to announce the reappointment of Vice Chair William "Brit" Kirwan, Member Jennifer Lynch, and Member Justin Robinson to the AIB. The three members were each reappointed by Governor Wes Moore to six-year terms beginning July 2, 2024, and effective immediately. Vice Chair Kirwan and Member Lynch were initially appointed when the AIB was established in November 2021 and Member Robinson was appointed in May 2023 to fill a vacant position. Their initial terms ended July 1, 2024.

"Maryland is grateful for the strong leadership and enduring partnership of Brit Kirwan, Jennifer Lynch, and Justin Robinson. They remain deeply committed to our children and our schools, and I am grateful that they have raised their hands to serve," said Gov. Moore. "By working together, we will continue to ensure that Maryland provides a world-class education to all."

"I am pleased that these three members will continue to serve on the AIB," said Isiah Leggett, Chair of the AIB. "Their individual and collective contributions to supporting implementation of the Blueprint have been essential in setting the State on a path to achieving the Blueprint's expected outcomes." Under the Blueprint law, Board members are required to have a high level of knowledge and expertise in education policy and strategy. Vice Chair Kirwan, Member Lynch, and Member Robinson all bring incredible levels of experience in a variety of educational institutions, and the AIB is grateful that they will continue to serve as board members.

**The Accountability & Implementation Board** is an independent unit of the Maryland State government created by the Blueprint for Maryland's Future law to ensure successful implementation of the Blueprint over the multi-year implementation period and achievement of the Blueprint's intended outcomes. The Board consists of seven members appointed by the Governor from a list of nominations identified by the AIB Nominating Committee. Board members are subject to Maryland Senate confirmation. Board members serve six-year terms, with the initial terms staggered. For more information on the AIB, board members, and Blueprint implementation, please visit <u>the AIB website</u>.

**The Blueprint for Maryland's Future** is a multi-year education transformational commitment that combines innovative policies based on evidence-based practices and funding to support and empower schools and districts to create the education system that meets the needs of students and their communities.

The Blueprint seeks to address historical inequities by providing students, families, communities, schools, and staff with access to resources that effectively close gaps and achieve success across five policy Pillars: (1) Early Childhood Education, (2) High-Quality and Diverse Teachers and Leaders, (3) College and Career Readiness, (4) More Resources for Students to be Successful, and (5) Governance and Accountability.

###