Chair Isiah Leggett

Vice Chair William E. Kirwan

Executive Director Rachel H. Hise



Accountability & Implementation Board Board Members Mara R. Doss Jennifer M. Lynch Joseph Manko Justin Robinson Laura M. Stapleton

BLUEPRINT FOR MARYLAND'S FUTURE

August 14, 2024

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

Media Contact: Arshia Sethi-Snowdon (410) 980-1834 Arshia.Sethi-Snowdon@maryland.gov

The Blueprint for Maryland's Future Accountability and Implementation Board Announces New Members for Pillars 1 through 4 Advisory Committees

The Blueprint for Maryland's Future Accountability and Implementation Board (AIB) is pleased to announce new appointments to the vacant seats on the advisory committees for Pillars 1 through 4. The AIB seeks to involve stakeholders and members of the public from diverse geographic, economic, racial, ethnic, and gender backgrounds who represent various life experiences and viewpoints and have expertise related to areas within each pillar to serve on the advisory committees.

The AIB established advisory committees for Pillars 1 through 4 in July 2022 to provide additional input and feedback on Blueprint implementation from across the State. A new advisory committee for Pillar 5 was announced at the AIB's May board meeting as an expansion of stakeholder engagement with Blueprint implementation. This committee will monitor the effective implementation of the Blueprint in terms of accountability, governance, and oversight. Appointments for the Pillar 5 Advisory Committee will be announced in the coming months.

Board member Joseph Manko chaired a subcommittee of the AIB, including Member Mara Doss and Member Justin Robinson, that reviewed all 125 applications and supporting materials submitted by the July 8, 2024, deadline. "We were energized by the number of highly qualified community members who applied to serve on an advisory committee," said Dr. Manko. "After an in-depth review of all applications, we selected seven individuals who bring a variety of knowledge and experience that will complement the current expertise present on our advisory committees."

Each advisory committee includes a student member. As a result of increased partnerships between AIB and student leadership organizations across the State, the number of student applicants increased significantly to 25 this year, up from 8 student applicants last year and 4 in 2022.

A total of 7 individuals (4 members and 3 students) were selected to fill vacant spots on one of the four existing advisory committees. The individuals selected bring unique and diverse backgrounds, expertise, and perspectives. We are excited to highlight our new members below and are eager for them to get started.

Name & Pillar	County of Residence	Primary Role	
Jennifer Mata-McMahon Pillar 1	Baltimore City	College Professor; Director, Sherman Center	
Robert Willoughby <i>Pillar 2</i>	Caroline	Director of Administrative Services	
Obianuju Mba <i>Pillar 2</i>	Carroll	High School Student	
Isha Ande <i>Pillar 3</i>	Howard	High School Student	
Jessica Grant Pillar 4	Charles	Elementary School Principal	
Shaleeta Jones <i>Pillar 4</i>	Prince George's	School-based Speech Language Pathologist	
Kadeen Belle <i>Pillar 4</i>	Caroline	High School Student	

The AIB advisory committees will continue to meet on at least a quarterly basis. Advisory committee meetings are live streamed for the public and meeting information can be found on the AIB <u>website</u> along with more information about the new <u>advisory committee members</u>.

During this application cycle, the AIB received applications from every region of the State. See below for regional data regarding 2024 applicants as well as the full makeup of regional representation in our advisory committees as a whole.

2024 Applicants (total = 125)	Region	Representation across All Advisory Committees (total = 24)
30	Baltimore Area	3
30	Central	7
7	Eastern	4
12	Northern	1
18	Mont. Co.	2
19	PG Co.	2
7	Southern	3
2	Western	2

The identified regions include: **Baltimore Area**: Baltimore City, Baltimore County; **Central**: Anne Arundel, Frederick, Howard; **Eastern**: Caroline, Dorchester, Kent, Queen Anne's, Somerset, Talbot, Wicomico, Worcester; **Montgomery**; **Northern**: Carroll, Cecil, Harford; **Prince George's**; **Southern**: Calvert, Charles, St. Mary's; and **Western**: Allegany, Garrett, Washington Original advisory committee members appointed in SY22-23 served either a one or two-year term in order to have staggered end dates and all members had the opportunity to reapply at the end of their term. Moving forward, all advisory committee members will have two-year terms. The duration of student member terms remains the same at one year with the opportunity to extend for an additional year.

The AIB sought applications from the public for vacant positions on the following committees to start serving in SY24-25. The AIB is very thankful for the advisory committee members listed below who have concluded their terms and appreciate their service.

Pillar 1	1 member Departing committee member: Jacob Bennett
Pillar 2	1 member, 1 student member Departing committee members: Stephanie Maceiko, Kristi Murphy Baldwin
Pillar 3	1 student member Departing committee member: Peter Banyas
Pillar 4	2 members, 1 student member Departing committee members: Jaden Farris, Dawn Jacobs Martin, Chandra Krantz

AIB would like to express its sincere appreciation to all applicants for their interest in serving on an advisory committee and for their support of the Blueprint for Maryland's Future.

The Accountability & Implementation Board is an independent unit of the Maryland State government created by the Blueprint for Maryland's Future law to ensure successful implementation of the Blueprint over the multi-year implementation period and achievement of the Blueprint's intended outcomes. The Board consists of seven members appointed by the Governor from a list of nominations identified by the AIB Nominating Committee. Board members are subject to Maryland Senate confirmation. Board members serve six-year terms, with the initial terms staggered. For more information on the AIB, board members, and Blueprint implementation, please visit the AIB website.

The Blueprint for Maryland's Future is a multi-year education transformational commitment that combines innovative policies based on evidence-based practices and funding to support and empower schools and districts to create the education system that meets the needs of students and their communities.

The Blueprint seeks to address historical inequities by providing students, families, communities, schools, and staff with access to resources that effectively close gaps and achieve success across five policy Pillars: (1) Early Childhood Education, (2) High-Quality and Diverse Teachers and Leaders, (3) College and Career Readiness, (4) More Resources for Students to be Successful, and (5) Governance and Accountability.